The Board operates under the Minister of Fisheries and membership consists of a full-time chairman and not more than 18 other members. The majority of Board members are scientists, and other members are representative of the fishing industry and the Department of Fisheries.

The Board operates four biological stations and an Arctic Unit across Canada, also three technological stations with two technological application units and two oceanographic groups. It serves as the scientific arm of the Department of Fisheries and its principal objective is to increase the scope and value of Canadian fisheries through scientific research.

Department of Forestry.—Established in October 1960 from elements of the Departments of Northern Affairs and National Resources and of Agriculture, the Department of Forestry conducts comprehensive programs of research relating to forestry and the utilization of forest products, and carries out economic studies relating to forest resources and the forest industries. Through a developing information program it seeks to promote greater public understanding of the proper management, protection and use of the forest resources. Financial assistance is offered to the provinces under agreements authorized by the Governor in Council in order to expedite progress in specific forestry programs. It carries out forest surveys and provides technical advice and assistance to other agencies of the Federal Government which are responsible for the administration of forest lands. The Department co-operates with international organizations concerned with forestry and in which Canada maintains membership, and the Minister of Forestry reports to Parliament for the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.

Department of Insurance.—The Minister of Finance is responsible for the Department of Insurance which originated in 1875 as a branch of the Department of Finance but was constituted a separate Department in 1910. It is authorized and governed by the Department of Insurance Act (RSC 1952, c. 70). Under the Superintendent of Insurance, who has the status of a Deputy Head, the Department administers the statutes of Canada applicable to: insurance, loan and trust companies incorporated by the Parliament of Canada; provincially incorporated insurance companies registered with the Department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; co-operative credit societies registered under the Co-operative Credit Associations Act; and Civil Service Insurance.

Under the relevant provincial statutes the Department examines trust companies incorporated in the Provinces of Manitoba and New Brunswick and loan and trust companies incorporated in the Province of Nova Scotia.

International Joint Commission.—This Commission was established under a Britain-United States treaty signed Jan. 11, 1909 and ratified by Canada in 1911. The Commission, composed of six members (three appointed by the President of the United States and three by the Government of Canada) is governed by five specific Articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909. The Commission's approval is required for any use, obstruction or diversion of boundary waters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters in the other country; and for any works in waters flowing from boundary waters or below the boundary in rivers flowing across the boundary which raise the natural level of waters on the other side of the boundary.

Problems arising along the common frontier are also referred to the Commission by either country for examination and report, such report to contain appropriate conclusions and recommendations. In addition, questions or matters of difference between the two countries may be referred to the Commission for decision, provided both countries consent.

The Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada and to the Secretary of State of the United States.

Department of Justice.—This Department, established by SC 1868, c. 39, now operates under authority of the Department of Justice Act (RSC 1952, c. 71). It provides legal services to the Government and various government departments including preparing and settling government legislation, settling instruments issued under the Great Seal of Canada, regulating and conducting litigation for or against the Crown, superintending the acquisition of property and prosecutions under federal legislation other than the Criminal Code, administering federal statutes dealing with legal matters and providing administrative services for the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court. The Department also superintends the penitentiaries and administers the prison system of Canada and administers the provisions of Canadian anti-combine legislation.

The Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police operates under the direction of the Minister of Justice who also reports to Parliament for the National Parole Board and the Restrictive Trade Practices Commission.

Department of Labour.—The Department of Labour was established in 1900 by Act of Parliament (SC 1900, c. 24) and now operates under authority of the Department of Labour Act (RSC 1952, c. 72). The Department administers, under the Minister of Labour, legislation dealing with: industrial relations, investigation of disputes, etc.; fair employment practices; the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour; reinstatement in civil employment; female employee equal pay; government annuities; government employee compensation; merchant seamen compensation; technical and vocational training assistance; vocational rehabilitation of disabled persons; annual